Dark Goddess

Many years ago, so many years that I don’t remember exactly (I usually say ten, but I think it was longer), I got an idea for a novel.  The idea was a girl finds out that, in her past life, she was the first vampire.  Now, she’s being hunted by vampires who want to worship her and others who want to kill her.  She just wants to make it to her eighteenth birthday.

I finished the first draft a few years ago.  It was finished at the Borders Bookstore Cafe to a round of applause… that were all in my head.  A little over a year ago, I accidentally reformatted the hard drive of my computer and, of course, I had not backed up the most recent version of the novel.  But, I viewed this to be a good thing.  The beginning of the novel suffered from being written ten (or more) years ago, and it was obvious by the writing style.  This was my chance to rewrite the beginning so the whole thing matched.

Sadly, I fear it will be another ten years before I’ve accomplished this revision.  I allow myself to be distracted so easily.  Yes, I have my career (teaching) and my side pursuits (acting) and hobbies (fangirling), but I’m also, you kn0w.  One of those procrastinators.

I won’t let that happen.  I will no longer procrastinate.  I am going to finish this rewrite and get it polished, then published.

In the meantime, here’s a picture of my outline.  I’m considering adding another chapter and needed to figure out the flow of the novel and where it would fit in.  I’ve found the spot, but the scene won’t come.  Maybe I don’t need it.

Novel outline

3 Comments

Filed under Dark Goddess

3 responses to “Dark Goddess

  1. You can do it! I believe in you! I am also still working out the kinks of my 10yr old novel and also consider it a good thing that it’s been put on ice so many times. I think it will be a better book for it. *high five* Yours will too!

Leave a Reply

