Flashback Poetry

Life has been swamped lately. I’m currently in rehersals for the play Zoot Suit where I play Alice Bloomfield, and I’ve been mentally writing posts about that. Mentally writing, but not actually writing. I’ve also been busy setting up my classroom. School starts August 19. I hope to post more about my adventures in teaching as that progresses. In addition to all that, I’m going through some family stuff that’s putting a crimp in my creativity.

So. Here’s a poem I wrote in the spring of 1999 when I was in college.

I am Woman

I am woman
as I have been for centuries.
Sitting quietly, I wait for my turn to speak
only to be laughed at, ridiculed, and
dismissed when I do.

I am tired of waiting.
I will be heard.
And if you laugh too long and too loud,
you will miss the truth
in what I am saying.

Leave a comment

Filed under acting, poetry, teaching

Leave a Reply

