New poem – Professional Development

overload of information
welcome back to school
get ready to be dumped on
as we learn new teaching rules

excitement of the new year
gets buried in a heap
of bureaucratic nonsense
and paperwork miles deep

hours of endless lectures
on the brand new way to teach
all research based and vetted
by the government’s latest leech

I count each passing moment
waiting ‘til I’m finally free
released back into the my classroom
the only place I want to be

I yearn and long for hours
to organize, prep, and clean
sharpen pencils and make out nametags
get that brand new school year gleam

Instead I’m stuck in meetings
learning things I already know
being told I don’t know anything
to help my students grow

overload of information
welcome to a brand new year
I’m aching o get started
but, sadly, I’m stuck here.

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry, teaching

Leave a Reply

