Liquids and Gases

While teaching my students about solids, liquids, and gases, we started naming different liquids. Students named milk, soda, juice, Coke, Pepsi, Dr. Pepper (I finally put the kibosh on naming different types of sodas, because we coulda been there all day), water, etc. Then one of my students said, “gas.”

Now, as we had not yet talked about what a gas was, I was confused. And then I started explaining what a gas was. He gave me the, “Teacher, what are you talking about, you’re crazy,” look and mimed putting gas in a car.

Ah.

Now. How to explain to first graders that liquids are liquids and gases are gases, but gas that you put in your car is really called gasoline and is an oil which is a liquid without hopelessly confusing them.

Of course, half of them don’t get why other teachers call me “Ms. Yarborough” when I’m “Ms. Y”, so not hopelessly confused may not be possible. But, I shall persevere.

Leave a comment

Filed under teaching

Leave a Reply

