Thinky-thoughts Thursday

Or, really, just some quotes I like and have written down.

We are the hero in our own story. Mary McCarthy

I’ve never heard of this woman, other to write down her name in my quote book, and I know one shouldn’t trust Wikipedia as an ultimate source, but she sounds interesting.

Lately, I’ve felt like the villain in my own story. At times this fall, I found myself identifying quite strongly with Regina from Once Upon a Time. Not sympathizing with her, necessarily, because I can’t even sympathize with my own actions and they didn’t involve murder and cursing an entire town. But identifying, yes.

As to one reason I’ve been feeling very villainish, I think Abraham Lincoln summed it up best:

He can compress the most words into the smallest ideas of any man I ever met.

Unlike the great Mr. Lincoln, I’m not very tolerant people who do that. I don’t say anything, but it seeps out of me from tiny fissures that don’t release enough pressure. Then, I explode.

But, I always try to keep in mind that

Success isn’t permanent, and failure isn’t fatal. Mike Ditka (another person I don’t know).

and…

I think the reward for conformity is everyone likes you but yourself. Rita Mae Brown (Finally, an author I’ve read).

And, that, is probably the biggest lesson. I may feel like a villain, but I’ve spent a long time keeping a lid on my thoughts and frustrations for conformity’s sake. And that led to me being really unhappy. Now, it’s time to:

Be yourself; everyone else is already taken. Oscar Wilde

super pierced

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

