Soundtrack Sunday – Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves

robin hood

Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves is a mediocre Robin Hood movie with a cast of super actors, and uneven plot, and a spectacular soundtrack. The soundtrack manages to convey the beauty of the Sherwood forest, the excitement of battles, and the tender love budding between Robin and Marian in a way the script didn’t quite manage. Don’t get me wrong; it’s probably my favorite Robin Hood movie outside of Disney’s Robin Hood (a movie that manages to have a sexy Robin, even if he is a fox). However, since the movie works for me more on an inspirational level (I used to sit and write for pages while watching the movie, so much so that there are still parts that I haven’t seen), the music is what has always stood out the most.

The overture is so exciting, Disney BlueRay took it as their theme song.

Little John and the band in the forest

I like how it evokes a very Middle Ages type feel in the music.

Maid Marian

I love Everything I Do and I really like the use of the melody throughout the movie.

RobinHoodPrince

What is your favorite Robin Hood movie, book, or song?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Soundtrack Sunday – Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves

  1. Huh. I never knew that about the Disney Blu-ray theme, but it totally is from the overture!

Leave a Reply

