Movie Monday – Sucker Punch

sucker punch

Sucker Punch is a 2011 movie by Zack Snyder.  It was pretty solidly hated by most critics and a good portion of the audience, but I happen to love the movie.  So, since I didn’t watch anything this weekend (except A-Team, but on commercial TV and only for the scenery and Sharlto Copley), I’m going to talk about this one.

Sucker Punch is a movie about women in horrible situations who fight to get free and never stop fighting, even when they don’t win.  The title of the movie is a warning; I literally felt like I’d been punched at the end because I was expecting a last second miracle.

The main character of the movie is a girl known only as Babydoll.  She’s been unjustly institutionalized after she accidentally kills her younger sister in an attempt to save her from their abusive stepfather.  Once inside the asylum, reality splits into three planes: the asylum, the brothel Babydoll imagines the asylum to be, and the fantasy war world where she and the other inmates fight their abusers.   While in the fantasy world, she comes up with a plan to escape and then recruits four other girls: Sweet Pea, Rocket, Amber and Blondie.

Most of the critical complaints of the movie is that it’s loud and flashy and lacks substance.  I like that the movie makes me think.  Every time I watch the movie, I wonder about it.  I see new things.  I like that the movie never tries to make what is happening to the girls erotic.  Everything about the world from the moment Babydoll gets into the the asylum is horrible, and the movie doesn’t shy away from that.  They aren’t glamorized when they are in the asylum or brothel-world; it’s not until they fight back in the fantasy world do they get glamor.  It’s funny; looking at pictures, the costumes are more revealing than I remember, but, the more I look, I realize that when they’re wearing them, they’re crouched or fighting.  There’s rarely a scene where that’s just of them in the costumes.

blondie images sucker punch sucker-punch-cast

suckerpunch-2055

Okay, I could look at pictures of this movie all day (it’s gorgeous), but that would be silly.  The point is, this is a movie where the good guys are awesome, the bad guys are horrible, and the happy ending comes with great sacrifice.

9 out of 10 stars.

(It also has a good soundtrack)

Leave a comment

Filed under movies

Leave a Reply

