Book review – The Cuckoo’s Calling

The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike, #1)The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cormoran Strike, a private detective, has been hired by John Bristow to investigate the death of Bristow’s sister, a famous model. As he tries to untangled the web of lies and deceit surrounding Lula Landry’s death, he also deals with his own crumbling personal life and the introduction of an unexpected, but not unwelcome, secretary named Robin.

I really enjoyed this story. I love it when people are competent at their jobs, as both Cormoran and Robin are. While there is a hint of attraction between the two, it’s mostly due to each others cleverness and savvy when it comes to their job. The mystery was engaging, and I honestly did not see the outcome. I thought I had it figured out, but it turns off I was totally off the mark.

If there is another book with these two characters, I’d read it, but I am also satisfied with it as it stands.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

