Soundtrack Sunday – Sherlock Holmes

I was going to try and avoid talking about a score by a composer I’ve already done, but as I haven’t done any Soundtrack Sundays for a few weeks and am frustrated by the lack of internet connection at my apartment (thank goodness for the public library system), I’m falling back to what is one of my favorite soundtracks (which I feel I say a lot) by one of my favorite composers, Hans Zimmer.

sherlock

Sherlock Holmes was Guy Ritchie’s 2009 movie starting Robert Downey Jr. as the famous detective and Jude Law as Dr. Watson.  Hans Zimmer who is known for Pirates of the Caribbean 2 & 3, 12 Years a Slave, and the 1996 classic Muppet Treasure Island.

 

According to Wikipedia, Guy Ritchie used the Dark Knight soundtrack as temporary background music while editing (which was also composed by Zimmer).  When Zimmer was taken on to compose Sherlock, he was told to do something completely different.  He used intruments such as a banjo (one of my current musical obsessions) a cimbalom, which is a type of dulcimer, and squeaky violins and a broken piano.  The result can be discordant and jarring, but it really comes together in an exciting way.  (According to Wikipedia, Zimmer said it sounds like The Pogues joined the Romanian orchestra.  I think I’ll have to check out The Pogues.)

My only complaint about the soundtrack is the track titles don’t match up to when it’s played during the movie.  I don’t know why and it bugs me, but if I can ignore the titles and listen to the music, I’m fine.

Discombobulate

I’ve Never Woken Up In Handcuffs Before  (this is an example; the line is said by Irene at the end of the movie, but this happens right after she leaves 221B the first time and Sherlock chases after her.  It doesn’t even play when Sherlock wakes up in handcuffs.  I don’t get why it’s called that.  But I love the song.)

Not in Blood but in Bond

Panic, Shear Bloody Panic

Leave a comment

Filed under movies, music, soundtracks

Leave a Reply

