Sountrack Sunday – Oscar Edition

So, I was going to post my top favorite soundtracks that have one Oscars, but, looking over the list, except for Disney scores, Star Wars, and Dances With Wolves (we played the overture in band in high school), I’m really not familiar with a lot of them.

But, I love to sing and I do know songs.  So, here are 10 of my favorite Oscar Nominated Songs.

1. I See the Light from Tangled (2010)

I will forever be bitter that this did not win the year.  It’s one of my favorite songs and favorite Disney songs, period.

2. Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy from Buck Privates (1941) (Honestly, I had no idea that this was from a movie.  I just thought it was a song)

3. The Five Pennies from Five Pennies (1959)

I don’t remember if I’ve ever seen the movie, but I’ve heard the soundtrack many, many times.

4. Candle on the Water from Pete’s Dragon (1977)

5. Rainbow Connection from The Muppet Movie (1979)

6.  Footloose from Footloose (1984)

7. Belle from Beauty and the Beast (1991)

8. Everything I Do (I Do it for You) from Robin Hood Prince of Thieves (1991)

9. Kiss At the End of the Rainbow from A Mighty Wind (2003)

10. That Thing You Do from That Thing You Do (1994)

As usual, my tastes do not line up with the Academy’s.  I don’t think anything on that list actually one.  Still, I enjoy the songs and many more.

What are your favorite movie songs?

Leave a comment

Filed under music, soundtracks, top ten lists

Leave a Reply

