Two on a theme

Another two poems since I missed yesterday. Both poems were written sometimes in college.

Goddess

Sometimes I feel like a
goddess
Sleek and sophisticated and
sexy

And sometimes I feel like a
warrior
Rough and confident and
passionate

Sometimes I feel like a
woman
Mature and beautiful and
strong

And sometimes I feel like a
child
Happy and messy and
wild

Rarely I feel like
Kelly
I don’t know what she’s to
be

Always I feel like
someone
creative and imaginative and
me

(spring 1999; the goddess/warrior thing popped up a lot during these years.)

Fallen Angel

I am a crowd all by myself
Too busy with all
those very different parts of
me
To sometimes deal with
salesmen selling lies
women with made up eyes
and guys who walk around the mall
Angels waiting for the fall

I’ve already fallen
I can’t be saved
both all innocence
and none at all
trusting and not
confident and scared
passion filled and passion less
Too complex for even me

It’s why I am one
me alone
I am too many, too different, too strange
for another to want to take
a chance
And it’s okay
most of the time
except when my lonely soul
demands
what no one wishes to
give

3 Comments

Filed under poetry, writing

3 responses to “Two on a theme

  1. Scott Yarborough

    I really like these. It reminds me of when I went to see you at a poetry night at Long Beach State. You had a stack of good poems to read. An enjoyable night.

  2. In the Goddess, I like the repetitive format, gives it a strong rhythm.

Leave a Reply

