Poem of a Pen

My pen is an extension of my hand
this poem is about the meaning of life
I write, when I can, words of beauty
I just wanted to make sure you knew
I want to write words of truth
not everyone might get it
the ink flows steadily
after all, not everyone is as enlightened as I
Sometimes blue
or as smart
Sometimes black
so I thought I’d clarify
And, every once in awhile, purple
hope you got it.

(I’d guess this was written either in high school or college as a reaction to someone explaining to me what their (or a) poem meant)

1 Comment

Filed under poetry, writing

One response to “Poem of a Pen

  1. Scott

    The pen poem is very funny, one of my favorites so far. I reminds me of this guy I knew in college who tried to show me how deep he was by exclaiming after he saw Monsters Inc., “I’ve always been fascinated by doors and where they go.”

Leave a Reply

