www wednesday

What did I just finish?

under the never sky

I just finished reading Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi.  As I said in my post yesterday, I never reviewed it because I don’t have much to say.  Full disclosure: I’m also having a hard time summarizing it.  There’s just so much to explain, that by the time I get through it, I’ve run out of words.  And that never happens to me.

But, just to try:

This book takes place on the future of our world, where solar flares caused something called Aether to corrupt the atmosphere.  Some of the population, like Aria, have retreated into Pods where they live out their lives in virtual worlds called the Realm.  Others, like Perry, live on the outside in tribes and struggle to food and shelter themselves from the storms caused by the Aether.  When a tragic accident forces Aria to the outside, she and Perry must work together to get Aria to her mother and help reunite Perry with his missing nephew.

And, now that I’ve said all that, I can tell you the book is fine.  It’s not brilliant, it’s not terrible.  It’s pretty typical of YA where the boy and girl work together and eventually fall for each other.  I like the characters (I like Aria more than Perry) and it was interesting enough for me to decide to read the next one.  Which leads me to…

What are you currently reading?

ever night

I am reading Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi.  In order to ensure the safety of Perry’s nephew, Talon, Aria must search for the fabled “still blue,” a place where there is no Aether.  Along the way, she is reunited with Perry, who is now the leader of his tribe.

And finally…

What do you think you’ll read next?

into still blue

Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi.  The final book in the trilogy.  After that, I have no idea.  I am always looking for suggestions.  I might read an adult mystery.  Or maybe I’ll reread Rainbow Boys, since I haven’t read it in years.

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Uncategorized, www wednesday

Leave a Reply

