Quote of the Week

A few years ago, my brother said something about quotes that I think about every time I write down a quote from a book.  He said that, really, Shakespeare didn’t say “To thine own self be true,” Polonius did.  Just like Shakespeare didn’t say, “I hate the Moore,” Iago did.

Obviously, sometimes authors use characters as their mouthpiece and, other times, they don’t.  Depiction doesn’t equal endorsement, so it’s important to consider the context of the quote.  I’m trying to get into the habit of writing down the character that says the quote for context. I didn’t originally for this one, but I will now.

The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience. Atticus Finch, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

atticus

(Not that I think this was a sentiment that Harper Lee didn’t agree with.  But character and context is still important.)

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under quotes

Leave a Reply

