WWW Wednesday

www wednesday

This is a weekly reading meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words.

What did you recently finish?

I always do this one first because I always seem to be in the middle of a series, and it makes the most sense for me.  This week is no different.

ever night

I just finished Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi.  The second in the Under the Never Sky trilogy, this one picks up where the first left off.  Aria has been given the mission to obtain the location of the Still Blue from Tribal Lord Sable.  In exchange for the information, Hess, a Dweller in charge of Reverie, will make sure Perry’s nephew Talon is safe.  Meanwhile, Perry is struggling with the reality of being leader of this people.

It was a good read, but, again, I have no strong opinions of it either way.  It was diverting, but not very deep or exciting.

What are you currently reading?

I am currently reading Into the Still Blue, the last of the Never Sky trilogy.  I’m enjoying it, and I was thrilled the other night at once scene.  Basically, Aria has to deal with a difficult Dweller, Soren, who is acting like a total ass to the Tides, Perry’s tribe.  Instead of taking the opportunity to showcase her acerbic wit or deliver a cutting monologue as to Soren’s new reality, as I’ve come to expect with YA (actually, most genre lit), Aria completely derailed the situation using diplomacy and tact.  It was amazing.  It made me like the book better than the others in the trilgoy based on that one scene.

I just want to clarify that I don’t mind acerbic wit or cutting monologue’s, it was just nice to see something else.  Actually, the  moment really reminded me of a teacher handling a difficult student, and I love seeing examples of good classroom management.

What do you think you’ll read next?

last girl

I’m going to read The Last Girl by Joe Hart.  It’s a Kindle First read about one of the last women on Earth after a mysterious epidemic causes the female population to plummet.  I’ve already read Y: The Last Man and Children of Men; this looks to be along a similar vein.  I hope it’s good.

 

4 Comments

Filed under books, www wednesday

4 responses to “WWW Wednesday

  1. I like the sound of Last Girl although, as I’ve only just finished reading Only Ever Yours, I probably need to take a break from dark stories about the decline in the female population! 🙂

    I hope you enjoy the rest of the Under the Never Sky series.

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/02/03/www-wednesday-3rd-february-2016/

  2. Sam

    I hope you enjoy the ending of the Never Sky trilogy. I’m always nervous that the last book won’t end the way I want haha. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • Usually I get more nervous, but this one I’m just sort of along for the ride. There haven’t been many surprises, so it’ll probably end the way I’m expecting.

      ….
      I hope. 🙂

      Thanks for hosting!

Leave a Reply

