Teaser Tuesday

meme-TeaserTuesday-dkblue-boxed

I am doing two teasers this week because I’m reading two books.  The first is from The Last Girl by Joe Hart.  Truth be told, I’m not enjoying it very much.  It’s not poorly written, but I don’t like the characters, I don’t like the plot, and I don’t care about what’s going to happen next.  It’s the first in a trilogy, and the thought of reading two more books in this universe fills me with dread.  I’m thinking of dropping it, but I’m already 78% of the way through and it seems a waste not to just finish it.  That way, I can see if any of what I’ve read is worth it.  I’m not usually one to finish books I don’t enjoy, but I’m so close.

last girl

Anyway, my teaser:

Tia steers the vehicle up to the side of the building away from the road and shuts it of.  In the quiet that rushes in with the absence of the motor’s growl, a new sound takes precedence.

Teaser Two:

pride and prejudice

My second teaser comes from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I saw Pride and Prejudice and Zombies a couple of weeks ago and enjoyed it because it was silly and I like Sam Reilly.   However, it seemed like the film maker got halfway through the book and went “Eh, I just want to end this now,” so I was denied Pemberley and all the scenes of Lizzy coming around towards Darcy.  I’ve since watched the 1995 version of the movie and then decided to read the book again, since, as I mentioned before, I’m not enjoying the other book.

Had she found Jane in any apparent danger, Mrs. Bennet would have been very miserable; but being satisfied on seeing that her illness was not alarming, she had no wish of her recovering immediately, as her restoration to health would probably remove her from Netherfield. She would not listen, therefore, to her daughter’s proposal of being carried home; neither did the apothecary, who arrived about the same time, think it at all advisable. Ch. 9, pg. 42

That’s all for this week.  I hope to join you next week with a teaser to two of books I love whole-heartedly!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under books, teaser tuesday

Leave a Reply

